Is there any chance of her B2 visa approval after rejection last year

Hi Anil!

I have been staying in the USA since July 2016 on H4 visa. My husband is on H1B. I want my parents and my sister to visit us for a pleasure trip during the month of July/August-September, 2019.

Last year (in August 2018) my parents and my sister applied for B2 visa together from Kolkata location. My parents’ visa got approved but my sister’s visa got rejected. They gave 214(b) for her as reasons. We want to apply for her B2 visa again and I have some questions regarding that.

So here is her profile-

My sister’s age is 22. She is an engineer, passed out in 2018. Last year in August when she applied for the visa she used to work in a small company as a content writer and her salary was 13k per month. She joined the company in July and she went for the visa interview in August. That job was a contractual based job. The contract got over in September and after that my sister joined in Amazon India on 31st December, 2019 as a seller support associate. Now her salary is 2.9 lac per annum. She is now posted in Hyderabad.

My questions are

1. Is there any chance of her B2 visa approval after rejection last year? Is it worth it taking another chance?

2. Even if we are reapplying, since she is now posted in Hyderabad, which location should she apply from? Hyderabad or her home town Kolkata? I have heard from many people that it is always better to apply from one’s home town, otherwise there is more chance of denial. How much truth is there about this?

B1/B2 visa approval chances after refusal

The B1/B2 approval after 214B rejection are low if the circumstances have not changed a lot for your sister.

The visa officer was certainly not convinced that she will return to India once she visits USA due to her age.

I can understand your concern but it is really difficult to convince visa officer as your sister is still un-married and does not really have strong ties with India at this time.