H1B expired, H4 COS pending, 240 days rule

Dear Mr. Anil Gupta,

Would you kindly answer the following question?

I work as a researcher in a state university.

My second and final H1B expired on Nov 30th, 2018, and my I-94 expired on Dec 10th, 2018.
On November 7th, 2018, the USCIS received my I-539 (H1 to H4) and I-765 (H4-EAD) and I have the official receipts.

My wife is on her H1B and our I-140 was approved under EB1A in August 2018.

The university asked me to resign with Nov 30th as the last date with an understanding that I will be rehired when my H4 EAD is approved and arrives.

Does the 240 day rule for the H1B apply to me? Did I hastily resign? Can I continue to work until my H4 EAD arrives since I applied for a COS to H4 BEFORE my current H1B expired?

Than you so much. Really appreciate your inputs!

No, no cannot work until you really have any work permit.

In your case, since you did not file H1B extension, you cannot work. Instead you have filed H4 COS application which does not allow you to work.

At this time, your legal US status is ‘period of authorized stay’ due to pending H4 COS application.

You cannot start working until you really get H4 EAD card in your hand.

H4 COS status approval is taking forever these days!!
https://www.am22tech.com/uscis/current-h4-processing-time/

The better and faster way would have been to go out of US and get H4 stamping from US embassy. This would have at-least expedited your H4 status.
Then, H4-EAD would have taken about 3-4 months.

Does that answer your question?

hello,

thanks for the lightning reply.

you say: “In your case, since you did not file H1B extension,…” does that mean I had a chance to apply for an H1B extension?

Just to be clear, I applied for a concurrent H4 COS and H4 EAD.

so at this stage, if i went to india for a consular stamping and get H4 stamped, how will that affect my concurrent H4 COS and H4 EAD applications already with the california service center?